Unarchive channel behavior does not match documentation

Description

Our documentation here https://docs.mattermost.com/help/getting-started/organizing-conversations.html#unarchiving-a-channel states that "Anyone can unarchive the Public channels or Private channels they belonged to when it was archived." but this is not the case. Only Sysadmins and Team admins can unarchive a channel.

I don't know what the desired behavior was when this was implemented. Can we have a PM decide if this is a bug or a change is needed in the documentation?

There is already task to make this configurable for Enterprise but, we still need to decide if the Team Edition behavior should change.

QA Test Steps

None

Activity

Show:
Katie Wiersgalla
October 6, 2020, 3:59 PM

Updated documentation so that it is accurate to behavior. Closing bug ticket, added note to to check the behavior in Team Edition as part of any new changes to permissions.

Mana

None

Assignee

Katie Wiersgalla

QA Assignee

None

Reporter

Dylan Haussermann

Epic Link

Fix versions

None

Mattermost Team

Enterprise

Sprint

None

Labels

QA Testing Areas

None

GitHub Issue

None

Components

None

Severity

None
Configure